Skip to content ↓

Early Years Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and the age of 5.  This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school, as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.  From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure and support their development, care and learning needs.

Nurseries, pre-schools, school reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. 

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.  These areas of learning are split into ‘prime’ (so called because they lay the foundations of children’s success in all other areas of learning) and ‘specific’ ( these provide the range of experiences and opportunities to broaden children’s knowledge and skills).

These areas are:


  •  Communication and language
  •  Physical development
  •  Personal, social and emotional development


  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design

To read more about the EYFS, please visit